Bookmark and Share

"Education On Demand Within Your Hands" 

 

Mobilization Accessibility

TBReLearning System Wide Sloan-C Campus Membership  TBR Faculty Log-In
Create a FREE Account

*TBR Faculty and Staff must register (free) to participate in
Sloan-C Online Webinars 

 Sloan-C
Resources & Services
> Obtain College Passes
*Interim TBR Coordinator: Thomas Sewell: thomas.sewell@ws.edu
 Webinars & Workshops
* Free to ALL TBR Faculty & Staff
>   Online Publications
> Sloan-C Fellows Program
*Nominations Due April 1, 2012 
> 2012 Conferences > Sloan-C Staff Contacts
 

Overview of Sloan-C Workshops

*List of 2012 Workshops:

 Quality Score Card for Online Education

*How to Register for Interactive ScoreCard

 

 

 

The 9th annual Survey of Online Learning: Going the Distance - Online Education in the United States, 2011

The ninth annual survey, a collaborative effort between the Babson Survey Research Group and the College Board, is the leading barometer of online learning in the United States. Based on responses from over 2,500 academic leaders, the complete survey report, "Going the Distance: Online Education in the United States, 2011". This survey reveals that the number of students taking at least one online course has now surpassed 6 million. Now nearly one-third of all students in higher education are taking at least one online course. Read the press release.

Campus  Sloan-C TBR Campus Representative  eMail Address
APSU Dana Willett willettd@apsu.edu
CLSCC Jerry Faulkner jfaulkner01@clevelanstatecc.edu
COSCC Margaret Smith msmith@columbiastate.edu
CTSCC Donna Seagle donna.seagle@chattanoogastate.edu
DSCC Dennis Anderson danderson@dscc.edu
ETSU Myra Jones mjones@etsu.edu
JSCC Patrick Davis pdavis@jscc.edu
MTSU Cindy Adams cindy.adams@mtsu.edu
MSCC Randall Bartley rbartley@mscc.edu
NSCC Margaret Faye jones faye.jones@nscc.edu
NSTCC Chris Lefler jclefler@northeaststate.edu
PSTCC Audrey J Williams ajwilliams@pstcc.edu
RSCC Kathy Rhodes rhodeskc@roanestate.edu
STCC Brad Montgomery bkmontgomery@southwest.tn.edu
TTC Carol Puryear carol.puryear@tbr.edu
TSU Cheryl Seay cseay1@tnstate.edu
TTU Jane Sipes jsipes@tntech.edu
UOM Vicki Sallis Murrell vmurrell@memphis.edu
VSCC Mary Nunaley mary.nunaley@volstate.edu
WSCC Thomas Sewell thomas.sewell@ws.edu
TBReLearning  Jeffery Norfleet Jeffery.Norfleet@tbr.edu

 


 

The SLOAN-C 5 Pillars
SLOAN-C QUALITY FRAMEWORK

GoalProcess/PracticeSample MetricProgress Indices

1. LEARNING EFFECTIVENESS

The provider demonstrates that online learning outcomes meet or exceed institutional, industry, and/or community standards

  • Academic integrity and control reside with faculty in the same way as in  traditional programs at the provider institution or organization
  • Faculty perception surveys or sampled interviews compare learning effectiveness in delivery modes
  • Learner/graduate/employer focus groups or interviews measure learning gains
  • Faculty report online learning is equivalent or better
  • Direct assessment of student learning is equivalent or better

2. SCALE (COST EFFECTIVENESS AND COMMITMENT)

The provider continuously improves services while reducing costs

  • The provider demonstrates financial and technical commitment to its online programs
  • Tuition rates provide a fair return to the provider and best value to learners at the same time
  • Tuition rates are equivalent or less than on-campus tuition
  • Institutional and organizational stakeholders show support for participation in online education
  • Effective practices are identified and implemented

 


 

The provider sustains the program, expands and scales upward as desired, strengthens and disseminates its mission and core values through online education

3. ACCESS

All learners who wish to learn online can access learning in a wide array of programs and courses

  • Program entry processes inform learners of opportunities, and ensure that qualified, motivated learners have reliable access
  • Integrated support services are available online to learners
  • Administrative and technical infrastructure provides access to all prospective and enrolled learners
  • Quality metrics for
  • information dissemination; learning resources delivery; 
  • and tutoring services

 


 

 

Qualitative indicators show continuous improvement in growth and effectiveness rates

4. FACULTY SATISFACTION

Faculty are pleased with teaching online, citing appreciation and happiness

Process to ensure faculty participation in matters particular to online education (e.g. governance, intellectual property, and royalty sharing)

Process to ensure adequate support for faculty in course preparation and course delivery

 

Repeat teaching of online courses by individual faculty indicates approval

Addition of new faculty shows growing endorsement

 

Data from post-course surveys show continuous improvement:

At least 90% of faculty believe the overall online teaching/learning experience is positive

Willingness/desire to teach additional courses in the program:  80% positive

5. STUDENT SATISFACTION

Students are pleased with their experiences in learning online, including interaction with instructors and peers, learning outcomes that match expectations, services, and orientation

Faculty/learner interaction is  timely and substantive

Adequate and fair systems assess course learning objectives; results are used for improving learning

 

Metrics show growing satisfaction:

Surveys (see above) and/or interviews

Alumni surveys, referrals, testimonials

Outcomes measures

Focus groups

Faculty/Mentor/Advisor perceptions

Satisfaction measures show continuously increasing improvement

Provider surveys, interviews, or other metrics show satisfaction levels are equivalent to or better than those of other delivery modes for the provider


TBR ensures quality standards for mobilization using Sloan-C Five Pillars and MERLOT Peer Review process for mobile apps. Access SLOAN-C